News (2013)

December 9th, 2013

Reap What You Sow video

Ici D'Ailleurs are releasing a video today for 'Reap What You Sow' of Matt's brand new album, 'Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart'.
It's a gorgeous piece of stop motion animation by Marina Sabio from Tiny Lost Soul stop motion animation studio, that matches Matt's music perfectly.
Head over to YouTube to watch it.

Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart

In case you missed it, Matt's new album is available now, in a variery of formats. Go to Ici D'Ailleurs's site for the perfect christmas gift.
September 23th, 2013

Pre-order links!

From today, you can pre-order Matt's new album 'Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart'. The following formats are available:
  • CD digisleeve (regular edition): click to pre-order
  • 2xCD digisleeve (limited edition), mailorder exclusive. Limited to 300 copies, this version includes a bonus CD with two tracks from The Third Eye Foundation based on 'Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart': click to pre-order
  • LP (regular edition; also includes MP3-download): click to pre-order
  • 2xLP (limited edition; also includes MP3-download), mailorder exclusive. Limited to 300 copies only, this version includes two tracks from The Third Eye Foundation based on 'Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart' on an extra LP. Etching on side D, gatefold cover: click to pre-order
You know what to do.
September 18th, 2013

Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart

It's been over 20 months since 'The Broken Man', so you'll be glad to hear that the release of Matt Elliott's 6th album, the delightfully titled 'Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart', is imminent via Ici D'Aileurs. Read the press release below:

"So we left Matt with The Broken Man, an album on edge, stripped and perhaps his darkest record to date. Only Myocardial Infarction Can Break Your Heart, his new album, announces an optimism previously unsuspected in the musician. A new start, perhaps a form of renewed hope. Whatever it may be, this new album introduces a new dimension in the music of Matt Elliott, without ever questioning the foundations.

From the first notes, the climate (relatively) less dark than usual, and the listener is taken away naturally. The first piece, over 17 minutes, a manifest of a new dynamic, a desire to move forward regardless of the obstacles. The melancholy that has always emerged from Matt's music is transformed here into bustling energy and yet extremely warm. More than ever, he managed to merge shadow and light within the same song. Emotions are no longer opposed, they complement in the most beautiful way. Clearly, the fog has dissipated somewhat and shows the way as it really is, winding and rocky but whose purpose is simply a gateway to the territories of serenity.

So much so that we will never have felt so close to the musician listening to one of his records, sometimes to the point of having the feeling of being in the same room with him to share one of unexpected moments of intoxication as they are rare ... and therefore priceless. Only Myocardial Infartion Can Break Your Heart seems to be the work of reconstruction after a Broken Man impregnated with despair. And if the load is less emotional funereal, intense, it remains intact.".

Also check out this heartily teaser that the label just released. The album will be out in various formats, including limited editions. Watch this space for details and ordering info. We can't wait to hear what it sounds like.
In the meantime, check out the tracklisting.
And some new tour dates where you can check out the new songs:
  • 06/11/13 - METZ (FR) @ Les Trinitaires
  • 08/11/13 - DELEMONT (CH) @ SAS
  • 14/11/13 - BRUXELLES (BE) @ La Rotonde
  • 15/11/13 - AMIENS (FR) @ La Briqueterie
  • 21/11/13 - Paris (FR) @ Le Café de la Danse
  • 29/11/13 - VENDENHEIM (FR) @ Médiathèque (solo + screening of a documentary on Matt)
  • 01/12/13 - UTRECHT (NL) @ Guess Who Festival
  • 15/12/13 - RENNES (FR) @ L'Antipode
Be sure to check out Matt's Facebook page for more gigs, updates and additional info.
Finally, be sure to check out this trailer for the film 'What a fuck am I doing on this battlefield', an intimate portrait of Matt and his music. Hopfully showing somewhere near you sometime soon.
March 25th, 2013
No news on a new album (yet), but in the meantime, the following reached us:
"To celebrate 10th anniversary of the album The Mess We Made released on Domino, Ici d'Ailleurs is pleased to offer you the reissue on vinyl for the first time in a limited edition of 1000 copies. The first 50 orders will comes with a dedicated postcard by Matt Elliott".
Great news, whether you've been grudgingly been making do with a cd for a decade or are a hipster vinyl-fiend! So, head over to Ici d'Ailleurs site to pre-order. Release date: April, 15 2013.